2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup: Everything You Need to Know

The 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup is fast approaching, and cricket enthusiasts worldwide are gearing up for the highly anticipated event. As the 13th edition of the prestigious Cricket World Cup, this quadrennial One Day International (ODI) tournament will showcase the finest cricket talent from men's national teams across the globe. Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the 2023 World Cup will be held in India from October 5th to November 19th, 2023. This article will provide you with all the essential information about the upcoming tournament, including the schedule, teams, venues, format, and more.

Host Country: India

The 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India. The country has previously co-hosted three editions of the tournament in 1987 with Pakistan, 1996 with Pakistan and Sri Lanka, and 2011 with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Initially, the event was scheduled to take place from February 9th to March 26th, 2023, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the dates were shifted to the October-November window.

Being the host nation, India will enjoy the advantage of playing matches on home ground, which could prove beneficial in their quest for their second title since 2011.

Defending Champions: England

England enter the 2023 Cricket World Cup as the defending champions, having won the previous edition in 2019. England emerged victorious in a thrilling final against New Zealand, clinching their maiden World Cup title.

Qualification Process

The 2023 Cricket World Cup will feature ten teams, the same number as in the previous edition. The main route for qualification will be the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League tournament.

For the World Cup, the top seven sides plus the hosts (India) from the thirteen competitors in the Super League will qualify. The remaining five teams, along with five Associate sides, will play in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, from which two teams will advance to the final tournament.

Group Stage and Points Table

During the group stage of the 2023 Cricket World Cup, each team will play the other nine teams once, resulting in a total of 45 matches. The top four teams in the points table will qualify for the semi-finals, with the following rules for classification:

  1. Points
  2. Wins
  3. Net run rate
  4. Results of games between tied teams
  5. Pre-tournament seeding

Knockout Stage

The knockout stage of the 2023 Cricket World Cup will consist of the semi-finals and a final match. The semi-finals will pit the 1st placed team against the 4th placed team, and the 2nd placed team against the 3rd placed team. The winners of the semi-finals will then face off in the final match on November 19th, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Teams to Watch

While all participating teams will bring their A-game to the tournament, a few teams stand out as serious contenders for the title. Defending champions England will be looking to replicate their 2019 success, while host nation India will aim to capitalize on their home-ground advantage. Other strong contenders include Australia, who have won the World Cup a record five times, and New Zealand, the runners-up in the 2019 edition.


The 2023 Cricket World Cup will be held across 13 stadiums in India, with matches scheduled in the following cities:

  1. Mumbai - Wankhede Stadium
  2. Kolkata - Eden Gardens
  3. Delhi - Arun Jaitley Stadium
  4. Bangalore - M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
  5. Chennai - M.A. Chidambaram Stadium
  6. Ahmedabad - Sardar Patel Stadium
  7. Mohali - PCA Stadium
  8. Hyderabad - Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
  9. Nagpur - VCA Stadium
  10. Pune - MCA Stadium
  11. Kanpur - Green Park Stadium
  12. Rajkot - SCA Stadium
  13. Guwahati - Gandhi Stadium


The 2023 Cricket World Cup will follow the round-robin format used in the 1992 and 2019 editions, where each team plays against the remaining teams in a randomly selected order. After the group stage, the top four teams will proceed to the semi-finals, with the winners advancing to the final match.

Team Rankings

Entering the 2023 Cricket World Cup, the top-ranked teams according to the ICC ODI rankings are as follows:

  1. New Zealand
  2. England
  3. Australia
  4. India
  5. Pakistan
  6. South Africa
  7. Bangladesh
  8. Sri Lanka
  9. Afghanistan
  10. West Indies

These rankings are subject to change based on team performances leading up to the tournament.

Points Table and Team Rankings

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 points table will be updated throughout the tournament, reflecting the performance of each team in the round-robin stage. Points will be awarded based on match results, with two points for a win, one point for a tie or a no-result, and zero points for a loss. The top four teams with the highest points at the end of the round-robin stage will advance to the knockout stage.

Team rankings will also play a crucial role in determining the participants for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. As of now, the top eight teams have qualified for the tournament, with the remaining two spots to be determined through the ICC World Cup Super League and World Cup Qualifier 2022-23.

Live Streaming and Broadcast

Cricket enthusiasts from around the world can catch all the action from the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 through various platforms. In India, the tournament will be broadcast live on the Star Sports Network and live-streamed on Disney+ Hotstar. Fans from other countries can check their local listings for broadcast and streaming details.

Past Winners

The history of the ICC Cricket World Cup dates back to 1975, and since then, several teams have claimed the prestigious title of World Champions. Here's a list of past winners:

  1. 1975 - West Indies
  2. 1979 - West Indies
  3. 1983 - India
  4. 1987 - Australia
  5. 1992 - Pakistan
  6. 1996 - Sri Lanka
  7. 1999 - Australia
  8. 2003 - Australia
  9. 2007 - Australia
  10. 2011 - India
  11. 2015 - Australia
  12. 2019 - England


The 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup promises to be an exciting and competitive event, showcasing the best cricket talent from around the globe. With the host nation India looking to claim their third title, and defending champions England aiming for back-to-back victories, fans can expect a thrilling tournament filled with unforgettable moments. Mark your calendars and get ready for the action to unfold on October 5th, 2023!

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form